compost tumbler questions

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by Ann Mary, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Ann Mary

Ann Mary Well-Known Member Supporter

Do any of you have a compost tumbler and you can pass on some tips to me on how to use it ? I just bought one at a yard sale for $20----YES!!! It WAS a good deal! :) I just priced a new one at $381 But all I know is to put ''stuff' in it and a bit of water and turn it every day for a couple of weeks. But, I was wondering if you all had some great ideas to add to that. Do it benefit from a shot of compost activators such as molasses or coke or ammonia like a piled compost does? And since I live in a zone 5 I'm assuming that as the temps go down the composting process slows/stops too?? Any help/tips would be appreciated! Thanks!

2. Paquebot

Paquebot Well-Known Member

Why don't I find those deals? I know that size because I've been using one for almost 10 years and learned to love it. The reason you got it so cheap is because the previous owner missed on word from the previous sentence, "learned".

First off, don't expect to have finished compost in 14 days. That would be a full batch of just the right materials and it won't happen to the ordinary person. Even with careful planning, best that I can do is have finished but un-cured compost in 21 days. A normal heat cycle is indeed about 14 days and the compost is technically finished at that point. Actual curing time after that can be a lot longer. Regardless, it will never totally break down without the presence of a lot of soil bacteria.