Complete novice here - raising a steer or three

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Rickstir, Sep 1, 2006.

1. Rickstir

Rickstir Well-Known Member

Missouri (Hard by the Elk Fork of the Salt River)
    I have two pastures next to the house. One has 5 acres and other 6. There are no fences worth holding cattle. The pastures have been limed and fertilized, primarily fescue but overseeded with clover, lespideza and orchard grass. Both had the hay harvested this year. One pasture has access to our 3.5 acre lake and we can fence that off so they just have a small cove. Long range plans are to build small ponds (good drainage sites in both). The pasture that has the access is in front of the house, and other is on the west side.

We have a neighbor across the gravel road that is in the Black Angus cattle business with 200 cow/calf pairs. Another to the south is a breeder of Herefords. So we access to steers.

The plan also includes a horse barn at the top end of the front pasture. This will have stalls, water and electricity. The barn will be 36 X 36. We plan to have 2 or 3 horses.

The mission is to get 3 steers into a rotation. Buy when weaned, put meat on them and butcher; using 2 for meat and one to cover the expenses of preparation. Then start another group so we are butchering every year. If I get weaned calfs in August, and winter them over, will they be ready for butchering by the next August? Also we want to keep chemicals to a minimum which also means handling equipment if possible. All of this is to start next year.

Any thoughts, advise, criticisium is welcomed. Thanks for your time.

2. YuccaFlatsRanch

YuccaFlatsRanch Well-Known Member Supporter