Complete beginner garden tractor/tractor???

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by LynninTX, Jun 24, 2004.

1. LynninTX

LynninTX Well-Known Member

OK first I apologize, but we are complete beginners. We just moved to our first *farm to be* on June 4th....we just bought 11 acres in northeast Tx (30 min from Nacogdoches, 65 miles from Shreveport, LA). We are trying to research garden tractors vs tractors and are feeling a bit lost.

about 3 to 4 of our acres are clear and the rest is wooded, we do hope to clear some trees although never all of it

We were blessed to be able to buy our property (incl. house) outright, and have a bit of money left over. We are trying not to go through it all though as dh needs to find a job (nothing high paying, but a job none the less). On the second day of our move the engine on our old van died and is not worth putting money into due to size. Actually we left it in Tucson, AZ. So here we are with a rental while we try to find a newer used 15 passenger to purchase. Not sure what that will cost us yet (likely $7,000-12,000). So best we can figure we have $2,000-10,000 to spend on a tractor....I know... stop laughing!!! We can only spend the higher end if it REALLY REALLY worth it and what we need to do the job. That needs to include the attachments we need for now. We need something to mow the grass (except the house everything clear is grassed over), and something to prepare a large garden area. We would like something that would also be good as we expand and clear more of the land, but are wondering if it is better to buy lower end now and then look for something better that is older for dh to repair. This is just too much land to mow with a gas push mower and get anything else done.

I do not see how we can get a *real* tractor at this point....

We are looking at these garden tractors and wondered if you could recommend any or have another suggestion.

John Deere