Companion animal

Discussion in 'Goats' started by sassy_mare, Oct 27, 2005.

1. sassy_mare

sassy_mare Well-Known Member

I've got 2 horses and my mare gets extremely upset when I take the gelding out for riding. I was thinking about getting a sheep/goat as a companion. Here are my concerns:

I have 3-strand electrobraid fencing and woven wire perimeter along the road (only 1 side of property).

I only have 2 stalls so the sheep would have to share w/ horse on the cold winter nights (not stalled all the time)

I have no sheep/goat experience - is there any diseases that can be passed back and forth?

My significant will KILL me if he ever finds goat prints on his truck!

What can you tell me about keeping these critters as companions?

Thanks!
    Sheri

2. Goat Freak

Goat Freak Slave To Many Animals

You can always look up all the newbie threads and get a LOT of answers. I do not know if a goat would make a good compainion for a horse, I would think htat they would get scared. I have heard of people using Lamas as caompanion animals for horses, and things worked out just fine. Well gotta go, bye.

3. ozark_jewels

ozark_jewels Well-Known Member Supporter