Colony Raising Kits

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Back2Basix, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. Back2Basix

    Back2Basix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    707
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Location:
    Southwest, MI
    I bred my does on Easter and the doe who was destined for the crock bred for the first time since last spring, so now I'll have 3 sets of kits with only 1 empty hutch (usually separate doe/bucks kits after 4-6 weeks)

    Wondering if i can just set them loose in the caged area the rabbits are already located in for their final few weeks of fattening up? Its about 300sq ft with lots of hiding places, hay, etc. I'd probably also construct temp ground hutch/protection
     
  2. Oregon1986

    Oregon1986 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,386
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Location:
    Oregon
    I don't see why not
     

  3. Back2Basix

    Back2Basix Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    707
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Location:
    Southwest, MI
    Worse case is i lose a few to snakes or coons but I've yet (knock on wood) to have predator issues around my bunnies
     
  4. arnie

    arnie Well-Known Member Supporter

    Messages:
    3,226
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    sw virginia
    just like a rabbit tractor , if they don't get cocidious from being on the ground with the droppings ; of its only for a short time till slaughter other trouble from mites and worms might not pop up . watch out for fighting. you can prably get away with it