Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, we are | | this close to owning our own place. We just have to hope nothing goes wrong with the appraisal/finance portion of the deal now. :banana02:

So now I'm wondering how to handle all the trees on the 5 acre property. The front acre is fairly clear with about a dozen or so trees on it. The back 4 acres is wooded. I'm not sure of all the species, but the front trees are mostly white oak, so I'm guessing that's what is largely in the back as well. (I need to take a closer look next time I'm out there.) These are tall trees. I'd like to not have to remove any more trees than necessary, but obviously some of them will have to go.

What do you think would be the best and cheapest way to clear out select trees? I have no experience felling trees and really don't want to take chances learning to do it myself. However, I don't mind cutting the trees up and clearing the mess once they're on the ground. Any suggestions would be great!

·
Premium Member
7,215 Posts
White oak is about the best tree you can grow/have in the South, unless you are fortunate enough to have a stand of mature, long leaf pine. Timber prices around here (NW Georgia) are depressed just now, but maybe it's better where you are. Get a few bids from reputable/recommended loggers if you want to harvest some of them. If it were me, I'd probably just manage the woodlot and take what I needed it as I needed it...but that may not mesh with your plans for your homestead. Best wishes in however you choose to proceed.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, the discovery of the trees being white oak was both a happy/sad moment for me. Happy that they are beautiful oaks, sad that some of them have to be cut down.