Clear Plastic over my whole graden

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by idontno, Apr 22, 2006.

1. idontno

idontno Well-Known Member

This was year 2006 ..i wanted to update ya'll on my project.I want to be weed free this year.I have a old basement filled with dirt i use for a garden.Tilled 4" of good cow manure into it. I put clear plastic over my whole garden and then will cut hole where the plant will be.Anyone ever tried this? Will my ground under the plastic warm up?Iput 2" of water on top of plastic to hold it down till i get some straw for mulch,and to hold the plastic down.The water is really warming up on top of plastic ,Hope it warms ground too.Any Good or Bad comments? Watering suggestions?Also anyone got a fool proof tomato for Kansas.The last few yrs. Mine really sucked.Going to try some in shady spots in the heat of the day..Thanks idontno

2. BrahmaMama

BrahmaMama Well-Known Member

I'm no pro at this but I don't think I would do the WHOLE thing. The problem you might run into is mold and fungus growing underneath it. (I've thought about it for a while too).
    I think what I'm going to try is placing wide strips of plastic, weed barrier (whatever I have kicking around) down in between the rows. That way too the rain can get at the plants root system. You may still have to weed a little here and there but it will certainly cut down on time! :cool:
    I've also tried planting things in beds but no way, never again, the weeds just take over. They are much easier to control in rows.
    Happy planting!

3. Marcia in MT

Marcia in MT Well-Known Member Supporter

With solid plastic, the soil loses the ability to exchange gasses, and you also will have to be extremely careful to get water to each plant in its own hole. And weeds will grow under clear plastic. Yes, you can mulch over it to block light, but if you're going to use mulch anyway, why bother with the plastic?