cleaning nest box

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Ddunk1026, Jun 3, 2005.

1. Ddunk1026

Ddunk1026 Active Member

I was told to clean the nest box completely out and add new bedding every 3-4 days. Is that correct? Does the time interval of cleaning change for the age of the kits? Thanks for any advice.

2. BeatrixP

BeatrixP Active Member

I'm no pro and fairly new to this, but here is what works for me. Clean for the first time when they are about 3 - 4 days old. Then clean every other day until they are 2 weeks old, then every day until they are out of the box at about 3 weeks. Clean more or less depending on how wet and smelly the bedding is. I never replace all of the bedding, only what is wet with urine.

3. dale anne

dale anne Well-Known Member