Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Wishing for more green
930 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One of the tightest Christmas's ever is coming up and so I am looking for ideas. I have three girls and two nieces, yes no boys. I have patterns for Barbie and doll clothes and will make some of those. The girls range from 2 years of age to 17. Any other ideas? Keep in mind I am a novice!

·
Registered
185 Posts
The fabric stores run sales on fleece quite often and if there is a JoAnns close by they often have coupons for 50% any one cut of fabric that isn't on sale. I could make those cute no sew fleece blankets. I'll be thinking about other simple inexpensive things.

·
Premium Member
2,685 Posts
I don't know about where you are but here on the day after T-giving JoAnn's has a huge sale in the a.m. They open at 5:00 and you need to be there then. It takes forever to get through the cutting tables but you can save a bundle.

Lisa, I'm at home and using my slow dial up. YOu might post that link I sent you w/ the video of how to make those pillow cases. They could be done in pretty, funky or juvinile prints as is appropriate for the age.

You might go to Goodwill or another second hand store and get some old jeans. They, you can make purses out of the tops of them. You can add fabric trim, straps and a "belt" out of the fabric. Lots of pics available on internet.

I'll keep thinking, too.

·
Premium Member
5,938 Posts
I second the jeans purses. Look at Goodwill also for videos, CD's, etc. You can make pillows out of scraps you have, or Tshirts for the older girls, in the shape of hot dogs on buns, hamburgers, or whatever strikes your fancy. Hair scrunchies for pony tails are easy to make with scrap elastic and some scraps of fabric. Munchies of all kinds from what you have on hand. Snack mix, cookies, etc. Goodwill gets lots of donations from stores with the tags still on them. Scour the racks and see what you can find. Warm socks, etc.