Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
922 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
if you have farm animals in particular..what time does your morning chore routine start and about how long does it take you? Just curious..

·
Registered
90 Posts
I think this is a question that could have so many answers that people aren't responding. If you have cows or goats it will take more time than if you have a couple of bunny hutches and some chickens.
Personally, I am a school bus driver and my chores are different during vacations and days off. I do not have animals that need milking. During the school year, if I have a "trip" between morning and afternoon runs I will go out at about 5:45 and do chores for about a half hour. If I will return home between runs I do chores at 8:30 for about 1/2 hour unless there are other things that need fixed...pens, sorting critters, moving critters from one pen to another...things that need done but maybe not at a particular time.
I guess the answer to your question....it would vary for all of us depening on jobs off the farm and critters on your farm.

·
USMC can't fix stupid(s)
2,736 Posts
about 6:45am, on my way out the door to work.
goats, chicks, dogs, cats. takes a little over 5 min. (feed and check water)
but then we do the chicks (change bedding, etc) when i get home from work (6pm or so) and that's about 10 min.

·
Registered
655 Posts
We have 8 calves, 2 goats, a dog, and a cat :) . Five of the calves are bottle-feeding. I go out at about 6:30, after dh leaves for work, and it takes me about 1/2 hour to feed, change water, clean pens, and wash bottles, etc. If dd is still asleep, I will also go pull weeds in garden and do any picking for a half hour or so.

:)
Shawna

·
bunny slave
4,389 Posts
a.m.: do outside rounds to feed and water goats, chicken, geese, ducklings and turkeys. About 15 minutes before work.