Chop Saw/Circuit Breaker Question

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Ken Scharabok, May 9, 2004.

1. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

I use my 14" DeWalt chopsaw frequently. I am use to it not being able to cut through, say 1" mild steel, without popping the circuit breaker, but it seems to be happening even with small size stock now. Saw is 15 amp. I don't see the watts anywhere.

It is a 20 amp circuit breaker. Could it be going bad?

Could it indicate the brushes in the saw itself are going bad?

Please keep replies simple to understand. I am not a techie.

Ken S. in WC TN

2. mikell

mikell Well-Known Member

A new breaker would probably be about 5$ and easier to find than the brushes for starters. Yes breakers go bad after being tripped or used as switches. Some are made for it but not all. Brushes are simple to replace but usually take alot of time to go bad. The old 6 of one a half dozen of the other. Tried a different circut and no extension cord??

mikell

3. Oregonsparkie

Oregonsparkie Well-Known Member

You might also try tighting up the screws on the receptical and breaker. I slightly loose connection can do this also.

4. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member

.....................Ken, breakers can and DO lose their sensitivity after multiple shutdown cycles. Another problem that can occur with the blade is that if you happen to get it dirty\greasy etc., it Will Not cut. I use to cut alot of oilfield pipe which can have small deposits of parrafin\wax present and it would coat the blade and subsequentially quit cutting altogether. Your motor may need a new set of brushes , ...fordy.. :)

5. Ken Scharabok

OK, I have lots of 20 amp breakers I can switch out in the box. Is a 20 amp correct for this tool?

I have noticed on the blade sometimes it seems to stop cutting. If I push down hard for a second, it will start cutting again. Apparently this is burning off some built up coating?

Ken S. in WC TN

6. fordy

fordy Well-Known Member