Chimney Cleaning?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by freeinalaska, Sep 8, 2005.

1. freeinalaska

freeinalaska Well-Known Member

Does it really need cleaning? Efficient woodstoves really don't have that much creosote buildup if burning good seasoned hardwoods.

I've been burning wood for many years and have never had a professional clean ours. We burn a super hot, wide open fire once a week to burn out any buildup that may happen. Every fall I do a self cleaning. I take a cordless drill, attach some stranded and insulated electrical wire or I've used small wire rope, run it down the stove pipe until it comes out inside the stove and run the drill from the roof. The wire spins and beats on the inside of the pipe and cleans it out mighty fine.

2. bluetick

bluetick Well-Known Member

I just had the chimney for the woodstove cleaned yesterday by a professional chimney sweep. Price has gone up since last year - now $155, including tax. I usually just get a fire going during the evenings all winter, after I am in for the night.

Living in a rural area with no fire hydrant, the nearest pond 1/4 mile away, and a volunteer fire department based 5 miles away, I am scared to death of the possibility of a housefire. The house is very old and would go up in flames quickly. I have the chimney cleaned annually.

3. wombatcat

wombatcat Well-Known Member