Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a sign installer (we called ourselves hangers) for awhile. I don't like heights, but you learn to deal with it when your job requires you to be wayyyyy off of mother earth. We installed all manner if signage from mobile message boards to billboards and everything in between.

I often worked off of one of these.

Accompanied by one of these to lift signs and pieces of signs up to the work area..

I have worked out of a bucket at the end of the boom of the crane to reach extremely high billboard faces to paint them out.

That'll make your toes tingle.

·
Premium Member
5,953 Posts
Last time I rode one of those things up I had to climb out and get on a crane to service it. I walked back down the stairs when I finished. End of shift, met supervisor at the bottom. He said, "I'll see you tomorrow." My reply was, "Not unless you are going to be in Austin, because I'm not coming back here!"

·
Registered
5,293 Posts
I was a sign installer (we called ourselves hangers) for awhile. I don't like heights, but you learn to deal with it when your job requires you to be wayyyyy off of mother earth. We installed all manner if signage from mobile message boards to billboards and everything in between.

I often worked off of one of these.

View attachment 97591

Accompanied by one of these to lift signs and pieces of signs up to the work area..

View attachment 97592

I have worked out of a bucket at the end of the boom of the crane to reach extremely high billboard faces to paint them out.

That'll make your toes tingle.
To borrow a phrase from my sister-in-law, "Y'all are crazy!" There's not enough money in the world to get me to do that job.

·
Registered
3,809 Posts