Cherokee Purple

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by rocket, Jul 31, 2006.

1. rocket

rocket Well-Known Member

This is my first year growing Cherokee Purple and overall I've been really happy with it. Very productive, great taste, and bigger fruit than I was expecting. My one problem is that almost every fruit seems to develop deep, radial cracks spreading out from the stem end. The cracks scar over and I just cut those parts away, but I'm still wondering if I can prevent it somehow. None of my other tomatoes is having this problem.

2. suburbanite

suburbanite Well-Known Member

N. Calif./was USDA 9b before global warming
    I'm growing cherokee purple tomatoes in an 18 gallon tub, first time ever growing tomatoes. But neither it nor the black krim are producing much--the black krim has set two tomatoes so far but none on the cherokee.

We had two weeks of 100+F heat which just ended about 4 days ago. Is that why there is so little fruit set? I had read that these tomatoes are vulnerable to sunscald, which has been an issue with my peppers, so I have them up by the house where they get sun until noon but not afterward. Should I move them to a sunnier location?

My growing season here extends at least to mid-October, and some of the commercial farms in the area plant corn until mid-July for November harvest. I grow 'fall' crops like lettuce, carrots, and beets through the winter because the ground never freezes here.

Thanks for any advice. I'm guessing I'll run into rocket's problem too if my plant ever sets fruit.

3. rocket

rocket Well-Known Member