Cheap vs Expensive Band Saw Blades

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Ken Scharabok, Aug 21, 2004.

1. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

I have been getting my bandsaw blades (standard size) from Northern Tools. They have two price ranges, about $10 each and about $20 each. I have been buying the more expensive ones thinking if they last twice as long as the cheap ones it is the same. If they last longer than twice you are money ahead. For those who have tried both qualities, is there a noticeable difference?

Ken Scharabok

2. Ed Norman

Ed Norman Well-Known Member

I ordered a Northern Tool bandsaw/meat grinder combo and an extra blade. Both blades were junk, no kerf. They wandered and binded in meat.

What I have always done, starting when I was a machinist, is make my own blades. Order a 100 foot roll of good quality band saw blade. Cut to length and silver solder together. I can tell my easy method for getting the ends to join. In 15 years, I've had two blades come apart, out of hundreds of blades made.

3. Ken Scharabok

Please tell us more.

Ken Scharabok

4. Ken Scharabok

Does anyone have a source for good qualify bandsaw blades are a reasonable price?

Ed: Interested in making up some for sale? I use 6-10 teeth per inch blades as I normally cut stock thicker than 3/16". 64 1/2" x 1/2".

Ken Scharabok

5. daeve

daeve Well-Known Member

Please tell us. I've got both a handheld and horz/vert bandsaw that I need to buy or make blades for and the ones for sale locally are a "bit" overpriced for the quality you get.

6. Ed Norman

Ed Norman Well-Known Member

Well, it's easy to do. We'll see how easy it is to explain.