Chainsaw question, no laughing

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Shygal, Aug 8, 2004.

1. Shygal

Shygal Unreality star Supporter

Hey all,

I have a small chainsaw that I use for limbing and cutting small pieces of wood, etc. I know the chains need sharpening eventually, so here are some dumb questions.

1. How do you tell when it does need sharpening?

2. How do you sharpen one, anyway?

3. Is it easier to just buy a new chain than to have someone that doesnt know what they are doing (me) try to sharpen it?

4. What about having someone else sharpen it, what is a reasonable amount for them to ask for?

Yeah Im a chainsaw newbie :eek:

2. bare

bare Head Muderator

You know it needs sharpening when you start thinking it would be easier with a hand saw.

You can find instructions on-line to properly sharpen your chain, although, to my mind, you'd learn how to do it the right way by watching someone do it the first time.

I always keep an extra chain around for those times I don't want to take the time to sharpen it right, or more likely when I can't find the flippin' file, but they're relatively expensive, compared to sharpening them.

I can get mine sharpened in the saw shop for two dollars, but they take off way too much steel.

3. big rockpile

big rockpile If I need a Shelter

Sorry don't realy know how to tell you how to sharpen one,but I've done it all my life.Sharpen it when I get home at night and when I eat Lunch.

Best you pay to have it Sharpened.At least until you have someone show you.

big rockpile

4. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter

5. mary,tx

mary,tx Well-Known Member Supporter