Chainsaw Kick-Back

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Cabin Fever, Jan 18, 2007.

1. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

Didn’t what to steal the chain brake thread, so I’ll start a new thread here. I have a rather embarrassing chainsaw question that I should know the answer to, but I don’t. My question is, what exactly is “kick back” and what causes it. I’m no novice to cutting wood. In my life time, I’ve cut hundreds of cords of firewood. None of my early chainsaws have had chain brakes. My last saw, which I bought 3 years ago, is the first saw that has ever had a chain brake. In fact, the first time is locked up, I had no idea what the problem was….I thought the engine had seized! At any rate, I do not believe that I have ever experienced “kick back.” What is it? Why have I never experienced it?

2. Steve L.

Steve L. Well-Known Member

Chain saw “kick back” occurs when the center/lower tip of the chain contacts something that causes the whole saw to rotate up and back around its center of mass (about where your hand is on the top handle). It's really the saw tip 'running up' or 'climbing' a piece of wood. This happens very fast. A big saw with a long bar can darn near split you in two. It's real likely to happen when you're trying to make a plunge cut. That's why you start a plunge cut with the top of the tip, NOT the center.

3. ace admirer

ace admirer Well-Known Member Supporter

exactly as Steve L says....think of the nose of chainsaw bar as being the front sprocket and track of a bulldozer running 500 mph. it happens as fast as a baseball hitter swinging a bat. guy and two sons were cutting wood around here a few years ago. sons picking up the cut wood too close to father cutting. the chainsaw kicked back and ran up one of the sons face. its bad, bad, bad, the brake is a very good idea to TRY to stop the damage resulting from kickback.