Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
622 Posts
Hi Carla -

Digging a well may be dangerous, but people all over the world have had to do it, and I would vote that you keep hand digging info intact in case anyone ever needs it. Nathan Griffith's _Husbandry_ has good and more detailed descriptions on hand-dug wells, their benefits and dangers.

I was looking to see if there was anything (even just references) on permaculture in the 9th edition, and didn't notice anything. I'm not an expert at all, I'm sure there are others who know much more or who have taken the design courses, but permaculture is so important to sustainable living, particularly outside the US. I was wondering if (as I finish up my oddments chapter) it would be useful to add a paragraph on permaculture with book and web references for finding out more.

Re: Flatirons - my amish neighbors don't bother with old fashioned flatirons. They go to yard sales, buy an old regular iron, and just stick it on top of the woodstove. Works great, although wisely, with 9 children, they try not to iron much but sunday aprons and caps.