castration question

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Briano, Apr 18, 2018.

1. Briano

Briano Active Member

went to look at some piglets and this one looked to be having some side effects from castration anybody explain it to me? was told they were castrated on march 31 i was looking at this on april 16. others in the litter looked normal from castration 20180416_150546.jpg

2. Bearfootfarm

Bearfootfarm Hello, hello....is there anybody in there.....? Supporter

It looks almost like a hernia of some sort, but if it's acting healthy I wouldn't worry about it too much.

I'd consider a shot of Penicillin or LA 200 if there is any fever and maybe banding those protrusions to speed the healing.

A topical antibiotic could help if there are still raw, open areas.

crehberg likes this.

3. DragonFlyFarm

DragonFlyFarm Well-Known Member

I'm new to pigs, but personally I think I would pass on this one. If the protrusions are cords I would think they could be cut back, if its a hernia it should have been shoved back in at the first sign. Regardless I would be concerned with a two week old castration looking like that and why bring home a possible problem?

dsmythe likes this.
  4. ShannonR

ShannonR hillbilly farmgirl

Those incisions look huge! Is the black matter necrotic tissue or dirt?

The protrusions look a lot like testicles also, the cords should not be nearly that big in diameter (and should have been cut back further if they are indeed cords). My best guess is hernia, or one neck of a botched castration job. Did they try to band their hogs or what?? LOL

5. Briano

Briano Active Member

im not sure but i passed him up

DragonFlyFarm likes this.
  6. haypoint

haypoint Unpaid, Volunteer Devil's Advocate Supporter

It is improperly cut cords. Likely infected, too.

7. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member