Cashmere goats

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Flyer, May 31, 2005.

1. Flyer

Flyer New Member

Hi,

I'm new here, although a few years back I used to write in. However, we moved and had to sell our animals and now we are starting over.

I am interested in getting a cashmere goat, as well as a boar/alpine cross. First of all, can you tell me if the boar/alpine would be a good milker. I thought this would be a good way to go so that any bucks born could be raised up for meat, but that we would also enjoy the milk because of the alpine. I have heard that a boar/nubian and boar/saanen would be a good cross. I have had plenty of experience with dairy goats, but no meat cross goats or fiber goats.

The reason I want the cashmere is that I am a spinner. My questions regarding a cashmere are can they be milked....is it worth it? Also, can I disbud one with the elastrator method (I am looking at a two month old doe at the moment). I have heard that the cashmere's should not be disbudded, but those horns would pose a problem in my barn. I have always had goats with horns, but my barn is smaller than what I was used to by a long shot, and I don't want any injuries, although taking off their horns also takes away any defense they might have against coyotes. I don't know if that will be a problem or not yet. I sure hope not!

Any information would be most helpful.

Thank you.

2. cricket

cricket Well-Known Member

Where are you? And I think you are looking for Angoras...but I could be wrong. I have VERY limited experience with goats and even less with the fiber breeds. I've only had mine for about 9 mos...

3. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

You can milk cashmeres, but their teets are small and kind of hard - a real finger workout. They're more of a meat goat. Also, milk production and fiber production both take protein - they produce extra milk at the expense of their undercoat. So there is a trade-off.