Can you make a living on the homestead?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Dixielee, Dec 9, 2003.

1. Dixielee

Dixielee Well-Known Member

My husband and I have 40 acres in the Arkansas Ozarks and are going to try to make a little money on our place. We are 35 miles from the nearest small town of 2500, and 2 hours north of Little Rock. We have some infrastructure in place, i.e., several ponds, 7 acres fenced pasture, nice big garden, well, trailer we are living in. We have 3 doe goats, 30 something chickens and a few dogs. My husband is retired and I am a Registered Nurse. We are getting older but are both very healthy (thank God). My husband is building us a house and has built all of the out buildings, done the clearing, fencing etc. He is extremely handy and knowledgable about everything, and I just try to keep up with him. We would love to make some money possibly selling meat goats. I would like to do more goat milk related things, like making soap, cheese, etc. We have a nice garden, fruit trees, etc. but are looking for some ideas to make enough money for me to either quit work or cut back to a few days a month. Our place is paid for, but we still have some other bills of course. Any ideas or links to ideas would be appreciated. I know others are doing it. We are not close enough to a town to do any selling of produce, fresh herbs etc. but were wondering what internet selling ideas may be available as well. We are flexible and open to any and all suggestions as to how to make money at home. We are not afraid of hard work, we just want to do it at home. Thanks