Homesteading Forum banner

Can you ID this BIG plant?

3K views 29 replies 22 participants last post by  harrisjnet 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the Plant ID section (been lurking, and on the Goats section). Hope it's OK to jump in here.

Can someone please help identify this plant. It is about 8 feet tall, but I don't think it will be a tree. I think it has a hollow stem (but I could be wrong about that).

Top of plant:

http://home.earthlink.net/~nlyons545/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/id1.jpg

Close up of one leaf (about 12-15 inches across):

http://home.earthlink.net/~nlyons545/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/id2.jpg

Nancy

#8 ·
But a Catalpa is a tree - we call them bean trees, and the beans are poisonous. I would have voted for Castor bean - I'll have to go google it too. It sure looks like what my husband's step-grandma had growing a couple of years ago and she said it was a Castor Bean.

#11 ·
Aren't catalpa leaves smooth edged with one point. And smaller? And cottonwoods are toothed along the entire edge right?

That second pic is a good pic of the leaf and size. Almost looks like a paulownia (foxglove tree). The article here http://www.crocus.co.uk/gossip/monsterplants/? (second pic down) has the tomentosa listed and the pic is close... close, but I don't think that's it either.

#17 ·
We're not in the mountains, but pretty far north. Saw one by the roadside while driving, so it can survive in sunny dry, as well as partially shaded.

The leaves have 5 large veins coming directly from the stem. That's what looks different from the other plants you all have posted.

Maybe it is a tree. Some trees here (like poplar and hickory) have extremely large leaves when they are seedlings, but look completely different when they get big.

#21 ·