Can you eat a sick rabbit?

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by claytonpiano, Aug 8, 2005.

1. claytonpiano

claytonpiano Well-Known Member Supporter

We've got a doe that has had a cold or something ever since we got her. She is isolated from the others. I'm thinking it is snuffles. We were going to kill her and eat her, but our daughter was really concerned that we were going to get sick ourselves. I hate to see this rabbit go to waste, but maybe that is what we should do.

We are new to rabbits so just don't know.

2. dunroven

dunroven Well-Known Member Supporter

I don't know for certain, as I'm pretty new to rabbits also, but if I suspect a rabbit is sick, I won't let my family take that chance. I just feel like whatever is in that rabbit will be passed on to the family and it just isn't worth it. Just my 2 cents worth. Others will probably be along shortly with more info.

Valorie

3. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

It would be stupid to eat a sick animal. You might end up ill and dying . and for what a few bucks worth of meat..

4. travis91

travis91 Formerly 4animals.

would you eat a cow with mad cow or road kill for that matter???

5. JayinCT

JayinCT Well-Known Member

I thought we were a family here. I thought we were here to help eachother, not to take shots at someone for asking a question that we may feel is foolish.

Before everyone starts on a rampage here, stop and think for a second. Does anyone know where the meat comes from that they buy in the store? Has anyone checked to see what the guidelines are for animals being processed and put in our meat cases in the supermarket? I'm thinking if they had, they would be surprised, and this wouldn't sound like a question that deserved this type of responses.