Can lard be canned?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Charleen, Oct 10, 2005.

1. Charleen

Charleen www.HarperHillFarm.com Supporter

I have lard from 7 pigs to render. :1pig: Our butcher has shredded it for me already, so it shouldn't take too long.

Once it's rendered I usually pour it into quart size canning jars, put the lid on and stick them in the fridge. Mostly used for soap, but I do fry with it also. And, of course, pie crusts! But I've never done this much at once before.

Can lard be canned? I remember reading on this forum about canning butter, so I was wondering how I can preserve lard from 7 pigs. I just don't have the freezer space.

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

We used to put our lard in "lard cans". They are made of thin metal and hold maybe 6 gallon. We kept the cans in the basement because it was cooler down there. Lard rendered in March kept very well that way until late in the summer when it started to get rancid. (bad taste but not spoiled) That lard was used to make soap.
    I guess I'm saying that lard will keep all winter if kept slightly cool.

3. cowgirlone

cowgirlone Well-Known Member

After rendering lard, (while it's hot) I pour it into hot sterilized quart jars and seal. These are supposed to keep for up to three years, but I have always used mine up before then.

To seal I invert the jars for at least 5 minutes, turn them upright and set them on a draft free counter until I hear them seal.

(I heat up the lids in hot water, not boiling, before placing them on the clean filled jars.)

edcopp, Aimee and cfuhrer like this.
  4. Charleen

So, what you're saying is that the heat from the lard will seal the lid? I had always let the lard cool in the jar and then screw on a lid.

I know some people can jelly (and other fruits) this way but I did not think that it was an approved, safe method any longer. It must be either water bathed or pressure canned depending on the food.