Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am out of regular flour. Can I use bread flour to make a pie crust?
If so, will use please share a recipe.:):) Smiles and Blessings.

·
Premium Member
11,250 Posts
My guess is that if you kept it super-cold while mixing and mixed the very minimum, you might get away with it. The idea is to keep the extra gluten from bonding. If you have crackers, you could crush them and mix them in to lessen the gluten load. Or just make a nice graham cracker crust.

·
Registered
2,292 Posts
for baking I like soft wheat like cake or pastry flour. all purpose is still to heavy for my biscuits and is not great for my bread that said.. I am not that experienced in breads.

·
aka avdpas77
3,411 Posts
We always use regular all-purpose (or whole wheat) flour for our bread. It doesn't give you that angelfood cake kind of bread you find in the store, but a good hearty loaf.

I don't know exactly what "bread flour" is, but I suspect it must be what we call "cake" flour, which is made from the softer wheat varieties and is used for "fluffy" things.

Actually, I don't think it would work that poorly on pie crust, as their is no leavening, and therefore it wouldn't "puff up" anyway. I wouldn't worry too much about it, unless you are making something special. Most of us don't like pie crust that much anyway... it is simply a bowl :D

Reactions: mnn2501

·
Registered
1,804 Posts
Bret, I'll send you some. :thumb: look in the mail. :thumb:

I've never bought cake flour in my life. I've never bought bread flour in my life. I've only bought all purpose flour, forever, and everything turns out so nicely. I do buy gluten to add to my flour to make pizza crusts and pretzels more chewy.

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
You could measure your flour, then remove 2 or 3 tablespoons and replace with cornstarch or cake flour if you have it. And sift a few times.