Can I cross Pygmys/Nubians?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Merrique, Jun 10, 2005.

1. Merrique

Merrique Well-Known Member

Hello,

I am new to the HT board and I have to say it is a great place! So hello everyone! I live in SE Ohio on a small farm (15 acres) and have raised pygmy goats for the past five years. I would like to add some Nubians to my herd to learn how to milk them, but I have kept a few pygmy does I am fond of. So, if I get a Nubian buck will my little does be able to have the larger babies successfully? I have seen my does have some big babies, but not sure about Nubian-sized, thanks!

Aimee

2. debitaber

debitaber Well-Known Member

you can breed a pygmy buck to a nubioan doe, but you can't breed a nubian buck to a pygmy doe, the babies would be to big and kill your doe.

3. mpillow

mpillow Well-Known Member Supporter

And will the pygmy buck be needing a hill or a step-ladder to heighten his chances???

I have a pygmy/nubian buckling that I had hoped would grow enough but it is not looking good. He is a sweet little bugger though.....and a busy forager, freindly and talkative! We call him Cracker Jack.

4. Meg Z

Meg Z winding down

Look up Kinder goats. The breed originated with crossing Nubians and Pygmys. However, I think a Pygmy doe would be hard pressed to deliver a half Nubian kid.

Meg

5. trixiwick

trixiwick bunny slave

I don't know for sure, but one of our does is a pygmy cross with, obviously, some dairy blood and she is fairly tall. When we chose from between four pygmy bucks to breed her, the owner of the bucks said, "Don't worry about the height difference - they'll manage." And they did, even though my doe was quite a bit taller than any of the boys.

Not as big as the difference between a Pygmy and a Nubian, though!

6. dosthouhavemilk

dosthouhavemilk Well-Known Member Supporter

Depends on the size of your pygmy does.