Can Anyone Drill and Extremely Small Hole?

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by Ken Scharabok, Nov 6, 2004.

1. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance

OK, spray paint nozzles aren't working. Does anyone on the forum have the capaibility to drill extremely small holes in 3/8" OD pipe - not much more than a shirt folding pin diameter? Am willing to pay for work.

Ken Scharabok

2. Ed Norman

Ed Norman Well-Known Member

Ken,

I used to be a machinist. Several times we drilled the orifice in a part for Coleman lanterns. It used a drill around the thickness of a hair. We used a finger chuck, which is a tiny drill chuck with a straight adaptor. It clamped in a big 1/2" drill press. You grasp the flange of the little chuck and pull down against the spring loaded chuck and your fingers control feed rate and pressure. We didn't break many bits, but they did get dull after several parts.

Here is a link I found for a chuck like we used, down at the bottom of the page. They call it a micro drill adapter.

http://www.use-enco.com/CGI/INPDFF?PMPAGE=315

3. Ken Scharabok

Then I also need a source of extremely small drill bits.

Ken Scharabok

4. Ken Scharabok

290-1291
    USA 0-5/32 JACOB KEYED ROYAL MICROSENSITIVE FEED Page 315 $89.95 ea
    $87.99 ea
    In Stock
    Add

290-1292
    USA 0-1/16 OJT ALBRECHT ROYAL MICROSENSITIVE FEED Page 315 $209.95 ea
    $199.99 ea
    Check Stock
    Add

290-1293
    USA 0-1/8 OJT ALBRECHT ROYAL MICROSENSITIVE FEED Page 315 $194.95 ea
    $169.99 ea
    In Stock
    Add

------------

A bit pricy. Thus, still looking for custom work.

Ken Scharabok

5. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.