Calves - to sell or not to sell...

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Kat, Jul 23, 2004.

1. Kat

Kat Well-Known Member

I have 8 calves (5 born in January) weighing between 400-600 lbs. Last night at a local auction, beef cattle prices are up. On August 5th a local farmer is selling his herd (? how many?) of Charolais & Charolais X cattle at the regular Thursday night auction. Do you think I should take my mixed breed beef cattle the same night the Charolais will be sold; will it benefit my $ (due to hype of sale) or hinder my $ (Standard breed vs mixed), or should I wait till a later date? In general, when do the prices for beef cattle start going back down? Can you tell I'm a newbie to cattle? I know your input will help my decision.

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

If you knew what cattle prices are going to be in two months you could get wealthy in a hurry. Feeders usually stay up through the weaning season. Up here many farmers who feed out some calves usually buy them when most of the corn and beans are harvested. They then have more time to do all the things nessesary to care for them. The buyers here will pay more per pound for angus cross calves than they will for charolais or pure herfords either one. The thing that could affect your total amount is how much weight they will gain if you have plenty of pasture to carry them until cold weather. They could gain nearly 200 pounds before it freezes. Even if you loose a dime per pound from now until then the gross amount will be more.
    Be aware that I never got rich with beef cattle.

3. angus_guy

angus_guy Well-Known Member