buying a pressure cooker

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Sandy in KS, Jan 16, 2004.

1. Sandy in KS

Sandy in KS Member

I am looking at buying a pressure cooker for cooking older chickens, ducks, and geese. I have never used one before, but I hear they are great for making older birds more tender. I am thinking about an 8 qt., so I can fit a small goose in it. Anybody have any suggestions? I don't see much selection in stores, so have been looking on-line. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

2. Dawndra

Dawndra I'm back

If you buy a used one, take it to your farm bureau & have it tested. I bought one at a fleamarket.... They're the best for tenderizing old birds...

We bought some chickens & butchered them. I canned 1/2 & froze 1/2 for frying. the 1/2 I froze turned out to be THE toughest bird I ever ate! The canned ones were as tender as all get out.

I would also suggest going to estate sales where old people are moing from the country to the city. You can usually find all the supplies you need there, too.

3. comfortablynumb

comfortablynumb Well-Known Member

I just pressure cooked a whole roasting chicken last night. the separate from the bone so clean...yum.

and the liquid thats left was so strong i made a gallon and a half of soup....
    all from a $3 chicken.
    if your gonna cook a turkey you need a BIG canner type, they all work the same. (it still would have to be a small turk unless you chopped it up first maybe?) :confused:
    I have 4 cookers.... a size for every job. they do tederize meat for sure.... cook the chickie too long and its so tender its slop. :haha:

4. george darby

george darby Well-Known Member