Burying Septic Pipe Under Driveway

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by ThreeCreeks, Mar 1, 2005.

  1. ThreeCreeks

    ThreeCreeks Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    I'm putting plumbing in our cabin, and I have to run the main drain line (3'', sched 40 PVC) under the driveway/parking area to get it to the septic tank. The area is about three inches of red clay/gravel on top of sandy loam. The vehicles that will be driving on it will be minivan, 1/2 ton truck, farm tractor.

    What is the shallowest that I can bury it without worrrying about breaking it driving or parking over it?
     
  2. agmantoo

    agmantoo agmantoo Supporter

    Messages:
    10,854
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    Zone 7
    Run the pvc through a schedule 40 metal pipe and tamp the ground at whatever depth you need to access the tank. Remember sh**t will not flow uphill!
     

  3. ThreeCreeks

    ThreeCreeks Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    That's one good thing, we are on a hill, from where we are everything is downhill.
     
  4. RMShepp

    RMShepp Active Member

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Location:
    WV
    Originally Posted by agmantoo
    "Run the pvc through a schedule 40 metal pipe and tamp the ground at whatever depth you need to access the tank. Remember sh**t will not flow uphill!"

    I agree with agmantoo--that should work.
     
  5. caballoviejo

    caballoviejo Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    442
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    At about a foot depth not much is going to hurt 3" schedule 40.

    It this a pipe to the septic or from the septic to a leach field? If its to the septic I would'nt want the slope to be any more than say an inch or so in 12 feet. Water flow can outrace toilet paper and other solids and leave them behind to clog.
     
  6. Ozarkquilter46

    Ozarkquilter46 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    865
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Location:
    South Central, Mo
    I was having trouble with mine and so was the lady next door. The City came out and dug it up. Man it was like 8 feet deep. It was the plastic kind and for some reason the city had doubled our two house up on one line under my driveway. They said they find alot of weaid drains from the 50's when there was on regulation on they way they were put in. They fixed it and it works great now. Didn't even charge me anyting.
     
  7. moonwolf

    moonwolf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,576
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    Are you located in an area that gets ground frost? If so, your pipes could freeze above the frostline, especially if driven over and compacting it to drive the frost deeper. Ideally, it's not a good idea to drive or walk over septic fields in winter. But if you live in the south, it's not a worry.
     
  8. Quint

    Quint Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Not to hijack the thread but here is a similar question.

    Can I build a pond over my drain line? I'd like to expand my pond but the drain line is in the way and can't be readily moved. It would run under the pond to the septic on the other side. My only concern other than protecting the line during dam construction would be the pond water somehow breaching the pipe and draining the pond. It would be 6-10 feet below the bottom of the pond.
     
  9. ThreeCreeks

    ThreeCreeks Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Thanks for the respsonses, everyone. This is a temp cabin until we can afford to build the "big house", so trying to keep cost and time input down. So will probably dig down a foot or so and try to get away with not using the metal pipe.
    I don't think the slope is much more than that, I'll try to check it. That is a very interesting point, tho. I never knew you could have too much slope, just not enough.

    I'm in Northeast Texas, about an hour norht of Longview, so we do get frost but I don't think very deep, maybe just surface.

    Questions about ponds are always good, I'll be putting in a couple (we have surface springs that are just dying to become ponds) and need all the info I can get.
     
  10. johnghagen

    johnghagen Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    186
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    :no: You need 4 inch pipe and it needs to be 18 to 24 inchs below ground level,the proper fall is 1/4 inch per foot of run.Start your run from house so the proper depth of tank is established.I cant believe they let someone not liciened put one in as you dont seem to know how you need to get the code book from your local health dept.Or the very least a book from the library.There are a lot of considerations sush as where is you well
     
  11. mtman

    mtman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,260
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    AR
    on your small torpedo level there are two sets of lines the outer lines are perfect pitch for drains
     
  12. ThreeCreeks

    ThreeCreeks Member

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    I'm not putting in a septic tank. The septic tank is already installed. There is a 4" pipe, about 18" deep, running from an RV to the septic tank. I am going to tie into the 4" pipe. My 3" pipe will be carrying waste from one commode, one sink, one shower (two users) to the 4" pipe going to the septic tank.
     
  13. mtman

    mtman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,260
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    AR
    so whats the problum then cut in a tee iff you cant pust the pipe away to get the tee in and im shure you cant glue 2 nipples on the run of the tee and use no hub conectors put them on loose keep the tee up a little untill you glue the pipe in the bull when you push it down and its where you want it tighten up the no hub clamps make shure you use a waste tee there differant
     
  14. mtman

    mtman Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,260
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    AR
    by the way if you have to use any elbows 90 degree bends make shure there long turn the radius is greater there for waste lines