Building with cement blocks?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by HilltopDaisy, Sep 10, 2005.

1. HilltopDaisy

HilltopDaisy Well-Known Member Supporter

I was talking with my brother about the cost of heating this winter, and he is suggesting adding a small room onto this old mobile for a wood stove. He says pour a 6" concrete pad and build entirely with cement blocks, add a woodstove and there you go. Could it really be that simple and inexpensive? The firewood will be free. I've never used cement blocks before, only built with lumber. Advice?

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.
    For concrete blocks to stay where they are put for a long time the foundation needs to go below the frost line. Is that practical for you? A fire proof (internally) wooden structure is also acceptable for a wood stove.

3. gobug

gobug Well-Known Member Supporter

Hilltop
    Considering that you are in NY, it is a good idea take moopups advice. You might find someone local to put the pad in. I don't know that it needs to be 6 inches. Since it would be small, a posthole to below freezing on each corner should be adequate.

The cinder block can be dry stacked (no cement mortar between the blocks) and surface bonded. A bag of surface bond cement applied according to the instructions would actually be stronger than one with mortar between the blocks. I think a bag runs about $10-12 here.

I can't imagine a cinder block roof, so I am thinking your brother didn't mean that. With a conventional wooden roof, you would need a flue. The roof and flue would probably cost more than the block and be more difficult to build. Do you already have the stove?

A fan to circulate the warm air would help spread the heat.