building on piers

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by pcdreams, May 31, 2005.

1. pcdreams

pcdreams Well-Known Member

We're looking at building a house (16x24) on piers and (since I'm new to building) I've got a few questions that the pictures @ http://www.jshow.com/y2k/listings.html don't seem to explain (or I'm simply to ignorant to understand).

I'm assuming the 16x24 are the outside dimensions (because I can tell there is overhang of the floor joist on the load bearing sides. My question is how far these piers need to be set in. From the pic it looks like maybe 1-2 feet on each side.

I'm also assuming the non loadbearing sides would NOT overhang the beams (front and back).

I've also noticed that in some of the photos there is bracing that appears to run from the beam to the floor joist at each pier. I'm assuming this is for stabilization?

If anyone has any good sites that explain such I'd be very happy to have a link :)

2. Cyngbaeld

Cyngbaeld In Remembrance Supporter

I don't know of any sites that explain this in detail. But your library should have some good books on it. Mine are packed or I would look it up for you. Look for books on pole construction and framing books. Any book in print can usually be got on an interlibrary loan, so if you find an interesting looking book on Amazon or someplace your library can order it. Then chose the ones that seem most helpful and buy those. They have lots of charts and other helpful references that you will want to have on hand while building.

3. Cosmic

Cosmic Well-Known Member

The overhang part is what as known as cantilevered. The combination of pier placement, number of piers and main carrying beam is primarily determined by the size and strength of those main beams. As shown in this step. (In theory you could have only four piers, if the footings are big enough and the main beam span is still in spec.)

http://www.jshow.com/y2k/listings/9.html