Building a Milk Stand

Discussion in 'Goats' started by MaryW, Dec 29, 2004.

1. MaryW

MaryW Active Member

Can someone tell if there is a place I can look at a milk stand to build? I sure do need to look at one so I can get one started. Any ideas from any of you that has a sure fire stand? I'm new at this so all the help I can get is accepted. Thanks, MaryW

2. Cat

Cat Well-Known Member

Mary,

I could possibly get out and get a photo of the one we have in our barn which hasn't been used in probably 10 years. It is one of two that was built 30+ years ago by my father and still stands today! The other was taken down so we could put in a cow stanchion so we only have the one. There may well be better designs out there but this one is a long-lived model, that's for sure!

3. rainedaze

rainedaze Well-Known Member

The following is a website address that my husband used to build our milking stand. He used an old weight bench that he cut apart and welded back together using the diagrams from the website. Good luck.

http://www.greatgoats.com/articles/milk_stand.html

4. MaryW

MaryW Active Member

Thanks, rainedaze alot I need all the lot I can get. I'm new to goats and my doe is due anytime.

5. Sondra Peterson

Sondra Peterson Well-Known Member

DH built my milk stand similar to the one above. I would then get you a rubber mat even car mats work to attach to the floor as it can get slippery.

SueBee likes this.
  6. lhopkins

lhopkins Member

Do you want wood or metal? I prefer metal so the poop drops through the stand. I took the hoegger catalog to our local welding shop and said I want something like this. I gave them my measurements. They made the legs kick out at an angle so it is very sturdy but they will fold up flat for carrying. They made my head piece where I can remove it for travel and adjustable up or down depending on if we are working on babies or big girls. I love it!

Might consider this.

Good luck

Leslie

7. BamaSuzy

BamaSuzy Well-Known Member