brown swiss good for homesteading?

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by comfortacres, Dec 11, 2006.

1. comfortacres

comfortacres Member

We are looking into getting a beautiful brown swiss cow (3 years old- due March 5th) she is pregnant with a red holstein calf. She is $1400. We have 3 jerseys and we do cowshares, and I feel that she will be a nice addition. Now my question is, does anyone else have a brown swiss? will she be ok on once a day milking? How much will she tend to eat? (we only have a few acres pasture so we will be supplementing with hay until we clear more land) Will she be ok with my other much smaller girls?

Thanks for replying,
    Natasha
    Comfort Acres farm

2. ericakc

ericakc Well-Known Member

Hi Natasha.

I'm no expert, but I did get a Brown Swiss as my first milk cow. Here's what I can tell you about my experience. She is very docile. I feed her about 11-12 pounds of a dairy ration at each milking and have a round bale of hay out for her. She eats quite a bit but was too skinny when I got her in August. She has put on weight and I think looks about right now. And to your last question, I would say she gets along fine with my other bovines (a 7 month Gelbvieh heifer and a 14 month Gelbvieh bull). She is the boss but not a bully.

Erica.

3. JulieLou42

JulieLou42 Well-Known Member

Brown Swiss was also my first cow, had been raised for 4-H program, and was a delight...like a big puppy dog. Wonderful temperament.

That was over 30 years ago, and I've no recollection of what we fed her other than alfalfa and some oats, as instructed by other cattlemen. We didn't have grass hay there in that area.

She was a beautiful reddish brown, with excellent conformation. Very easy to work with. Lotsa milk...her quantity will be close to the Holstein, so I'd think once a day milking would be chancey.

4. vallyfarm

vallyfarm Well-Known Member