Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I started my little pig journey last year in june. My girls have farrowed twice now and I've started to realize that there is going to be a lot of information to keep. What do you all document? I know to document stuff like litter size, number weaned, live/still births, farrow dates. What else would be nice to keep records on? Do you keep a separate notebook for each sow?

I've got three sows right now and 3 gilts that I'm planning on breeding this winter to farrow next spring. I'd like to get all my ducks in a row before I get to deep.

I'm a first time (farmer). I'm keeping them on woodlots, planning on clearing my acreage eventually and creating pasture for them. I'd like in a few years to get up to a breeding herd of 6-10 sows.

I have no experience in farming or business so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,184 Posts
Any and all information you are able to track would be beneficial. Most of us wish we could keep better records on everything. The truth is we all do the best we can and sometimes things out of the ordinary happen and we are not able to document the into we want on time (or miss the opportunity all together)
Sow ages and weights at different times would be good to have.
Piglet birth weights and weights at weaning etc would be good to have.
feed consumption and feed mixes
litter numbers
newborn weights
body scoring for sows with piglets. (do they maintain their body condition or lose condition quickly causing you to wean earlier?)
The things you mentioned about litter size and mortality would also be good.

The things that will really make a difference would be to be able to track sow expenses and piglet expenses so when you go to sell you have the most accurate numbers possible in order to price so you make a profit.