Breeding rabbits

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by -, Oct 5, 2003.

1. Guest

No they are not bred. I've been raising them for over 20 years. Just wondering if any one knew what the problem was. Never had this happen for this lenth of time.

Tiller

2. bumpus

bumpus Well-Known Member

Are they already bread ?

3. Guest

All of a sudden my does don't want to breed. They just sit in the corner of the cage. The buck tries, but no luck.
    These does are good, produce good litters, when they have them. They are only 1 to 2 years old. Been trying for over a month now...any ideas...I raised these does from babys so I know everything about them.

Bill

4. Hotel Californian

Hotel Californian Member

Did you give them the summer off? It has happened to me before when I let them rest over the heat of the summer and tried to restart production.

Have they become fat?

Have you tried breeding in the early AM before you feed them?

5. Robin Pundzak

Robin Pundzak Active Member

Bill,
    I've been having the same problem for about 1 1/2 months. I have good, normally willing, experienced does, that just hunker down and won't co-operate. I've started leaving the does with the bucks for several days, and will see if that helps. I won't know until the end of the month, though, so I can't give you any data until then. I'm just going to put the nestbox in counting from the 1st day they were together. I haven't had any problems with fighting or aggression between the bucks and does, just a lot of miserable looking does!
    Robin

6. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member