Breeding question

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Mountain View, Sep 24, 2006.

1. Mountain View

Mountain View Well-Known Member

I have 4 Oberhasli goats that I would like to breed this winter. Are there any breeds I should or shouldn't cross with to result in good milkers? There aren't really oberhasli's in my area as we got these goats from pretty far away. This is our first time with goats and I'm just learning the basics. Any advice?

2. goatkid

goatkid Well-Known Member Supporter

Crossing your does with any dairy breed buck out of good milking lines should make for good milk kids. Don't cross with Boer or any other meat or hair goat breed for milky kids. If appearance is important to you and you like the look of the Swiss breeds, use an Alpine or Saanen buck.

3. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member

Don't cross with Boer or other meat breeds IF you want to have ADGA registered goats that you can show (and I hope someday the ADGA will wise up on that -- there are very good goats in all the breeds, and a lot of them can milk). Otherwise, think about what you want out of your goats. I like my dairy-meat crosses (I have Kinders, which are Pygmy and Nubian, and I also have some Oberhasli/Boer crosses) actually BETTER than straight dairy goats. They are easier keepers, have excellent rumen capacity and body capacity, need less grain, give richer, sweeter milk, and are generally just nice, calm goats. I have a 3/16 Boer doe kid who could have beat all the straight dairy doe kids at the goat show we went to -- and there were some very nice goats at that show. Her mother peaked at fourteen pounds of milk a day, probably averaged over eight pounds for her full lactation (I didn't keep complete records, but I could have milked her through), and she was almost half Boer. Her milk was as rich as the Kinder milk -- which is very rich. And surplus kids are meatier than straight dairy kids.