breeding pigs

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by jackie c, Oct 8, 2004.

1. jackie c

jackie c Well-Known Member

I have to make a desion now as to whether or not butcher my sow. I originally purchased the pigs with the intension of selling them off for meat. I have one sow in this bunch and am considering keeping her for one litter then butcher her. I am a comlete novice about breeding and farrowing and need some advice on these matters. A few questions I have are:

Do I take her to the male or does he come here, and the pros and cons of this impregnation method.
    Artificial insemination alternative - pros and cons? How much does it cost?

I intend to do more research on farrowing so won't ask anything out this area right now.

Thanks in advance.

2. Tango

Tango Well-Known Member

I'd go the A.I. route if you have no boar. A.I. with pigs is simple and starightforward. There is a spray called SOA (Sex Odour Aerosol) which is made in Canada by Intervet. Spray it in front of her and she will stand completely still, that is when you insert the straw. If you choose a breed but not a particular stud, the price of semen with shipping overnight is about $85- at least here in the U.S. It is so easy to work with a sow in heat when she is standing that I wouldn't even consider a boar unless I owned one. You'll have to AI her two days in a row and know when she is going to heat for it to work right. Good luck.

3. GeorgeK

GeorgeK Well-Known Member

I use the wildflock system, ok for pigs, wildherd system. Let the pigs have 24/7 access to eachother, adequate pasture, and shelter, daily treats and let them breed as they wish, but watch their behavior. If a boar is mean to the piglets, he gets invited to dinner, if a sow is mean to her piglets she gets invited to dinner. If you find good protective, gentle parents, keep them. they can breed for years

4. jackie c

jackie c Well-Known Member