Bowhunting?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by moonwolf, Mar 6, 2005.

1. moonwolf

moonwolf Well-Known Member

Questions for bowhunters on the board, as I am interested for this undertaking in the fall:

1. How did you get into bowhunting?

2. What type of bow do you use, and for what game?

3. What are the advantages or disadvantages of using a crossbow for game hunting?

4. Do you bowhunt in the spring, such as gobblers or fish?

5. What success rate are you having with bowhunting?

thanks,
    Rich

2. Oregonsparkie

Oregonsparkie Well-Known Member

I have been bowhunting for about 8 years. It is harder to hunt with a bow if you are use to rifle hunting. With a bow you generally shoot at about 35 yeards or less, which means you have to learn to call them in or sneek up on them.
    I have shot with several manufacturers of bows... Darton, Jennings, Bear, Hoyt. Here in Oregon you can not hunt with a crossbow so I can not answer that question. I really like hunting with a bow rather than a rifle but many prefer a rifle.

I generally just hunt for deer and elk but I wouldnt mind trying turkey. I started bow hunting because it was easier to get a tag for the animals I wanted to hunt. I think the success rate is probably lower with a bow than a rifle though but it takes more skill too.

3. big rockpile

big rockpile If I need a Shelter

I started out hunting with a Recurve back in the '60's,bought a Compound in mid '70's,went back to Recurve.I've been hunting with Crossbow the last 3 seasons.

When I hunted with Recurve I hunted everything Small Game,Bow Fished,and Deer hunted.Since I've started hunting with a Crossbow I just hunt Deer,because it distroys Arrows and they are too high Dollar.

Crossbows are High Dollar,heavy,hard to Cock,and I've never gotten a second shot.Advantage they are already drawn.

I usualy get a couple Deer with a Bow in a season.

big rockpile

4. RedneckWoman

RedneckWoman Well-Known Member