bottle feeding calves

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by spinnDrSandy, Oct 21, 2004.

1. spinnDrSandy

spinnDrSandy Active Member

We just brought home 2 of the most beautiful Jersey calves today...Burford, the bull calf, and Betty, the heifer. The person we purchased the calves from was feeding them 1 quart of milk replacer in the morning and 1 quart of milk replacer at night per calf. I have been reading notes on Homesteading Today and it appears most folk double that amout to their bottle fed calves. Burford is 2 weeks old but very large. Betty is 3-4 weeks old. After I fed them tonight the still acted starved. Is 1/2 gal. of milk per calf per day enough? Do I need to double that? HELP!!!! I have no experience with calves.

2. willow_girl

willow_girl Very Dairy

Well, I haven't had to bottle feed my calves, but that doesn't sound like enough to me, either! :(

I have seen day-old calves at work drink 2 quarts of milk at a pop.

At that age, they'll probably start nibbling hay, and maybe even some calf starter (grain), if you put it in front of them.

Also, they can be trained to drink out of a bucket by about 2 weeks old. Although they probably like the bottle better!

3. Tracy in Idaho

Tracy in Idaho Well-Known Member Supporter

Most people are bottle feeding Holsteins, hence the larger amount. Yes, I would definitely keep them on only a quart morning and night, and very gradually work them up a bit.

ALL calves act hungry all the time -- you will kill them off fast if you overfeed them, so it is always better to underfeed than over. Jerseys are more delicate too.

I put out grain their first week, and it doesn't take them long to get going on it. I also keep a water bucket in front of them from the get go.

Tracy

4. herefordman

herefordman Well-Known Member