bottle feeding a jersey calf

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by jacknleah, Jun 13, 2004.

1. jacknleah

jacknleah Guest

We just bout a week old Jersey bull today and the man we bout him from said he was givin him a pint and a half 3x a day. Im new at this so Im not sure how much he needs. Now I remember a a kid feeding the calves a full bottle 2qts. Therfore Im confused on how much they need someone please help. I would very much appreciate it. Another thing is Im afraid of giving him a belly ache how do you prevent when going to a higher amount? Thanx

2. Jena

Jena Well-Known Member

buy a quality milk replacer that contains milk proteins, not soy proteins and follow the directions. usually it calls for 2 quarts 2x a day.

mix your replacer throughouly. i put on beater in the hand mixer and stick that in the bottle to mix it. if you don't mix it well, some of the nutrient value will be lost.

jena

3. OD

OD Well-Known Member

You will be able to tell when he needs more..he'll still be looking for more when the bottle is empty. Just add a little more every day until he's taking a full bottle.
    I always feed mine 3 or 4 times a day, but it's not really necessary.

4. tinknal

tinknal Well-Known Member Supporter

Also be aware when you read directions that jerseys are smaller than most dairy calves, and may need less.

5. tingo

tingo Member

you ARE going to castrate jersey bull calf, right???? and, if doing well, thriving....now is a good time to cut or band. we band, usually - takes aboot two, three weeks for scrotum to ddrop off....is uncomfortable for calf for aboot an hour or so, but he quickly forgets...some, doesn't seem to bother at all! hows' the feeding going?

6. SHELBY

SHELBY Well-Known Member

Like someone else said jersey's are smaller and do not require the same amount..

How much do you think he weighs?? This is how I figure how much they should get..