bottle calf

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Briano, Apr 4, 2018.

1. Briano

Briano Active Member

about how much replace should a 2 week bottle heifer drink 20180403_162800.jpg

Rafter B likes this.
  2. topside1

topside1 Retired Coastie Supporter

I'd stick with whats recommend on the the MR bag. Another good idea is to ask the seller of the calf, they have been feeding this calf for the past two weeks. I'm not trying to be a wise guy, just thought it would be good advice. To many variables, here's a quick one, the type of MR being fed is critical, weight of calf, what it's been fed up to its current age. If I was a beginner I'd be asking the seller. My two cents....Topside

3. BevFong

BevFong New Member

Nice advice!!

4. Oregon1986

Oregon1986 Well-Known Member

Great looking calf

5. Briano

Briano Active Member

thank you

6. topside1

So Briano, how's the new calf, and what amount of milk replacer did you decide on per feeding? Topside

7. Briano

Briano Active Member

she's is doing real good. she is drinking a full bottle (2 quarts) twice a day . she is nibbling on hay and eating a cup of calf starter

nehimama, Wanda and topside1 like this.
  8. HDRider

HDRider Well-Known Member

I got one like that, same age, same look. He is a hog. I was doing 10 quarts a day, and just upped it to 12.

I have not seen him eat hay, grass or any feed yet.

9. Gravytrain

Gravytrain Well-Known Member

Yikes. I think I'd be worried about scours with that volume of MR at that age. Any MR manufacture that I've ever used recommends somewhere around 2 quarts twice/day to start with the option to raise that to 3 quarts twice/day for larger breeds. On the other hand, he'll be a brute if you can get away with it...unless the economics of it don't get you first. ;)

Alice In TX/MO and IMFoghorn like this.
  10. topside1