blood in milk

Discussion in 'Goats' started by goat mother, Apr 25, 2005.

1. goat mother

goat mother Active Member

i Have Read A Few Threads And Have A Few ?'s 1st Let Me Say We Are New. I Love The Goats, We Just Bought Our 1st 100% Boer Buck And Boy Is He Big And Long. We Did Only Our 4-h Goat's Now We Have 18 Goats. We Love It. Kidding Is So Great. We Had A Few Things Happen, One Doe Had 2 Kid's We Did Not Know That One Of Her Udder's Were Rock Hard, Mastitis, We Used Today But It Only Worked In One.
    Now That One Has Blood When It Is Milked Down It Is Really Bloody. Toward The End Of The Milking. The Kids Are 2 Weeks Now. Other One Is Like A Rock No Milk. This Is Her 3 Rd Kidding. I Am New At Milking Also. Am I Doing It Wrong, To Hard, To High Up,and How Long Will The Blood Stay And Is It Safe For Her Kid's To Drink? I Am Giving Them Some Milk Replacement For 5 Days Now, They Were So Hungery. She Is Such A Great Mother. Next Year Will She Have Mastitis In That Udder?
    I Know I Have Went Long On This Letter But, I Need The Help.
    Any Help For This Greenhorn Is A Blessing, Thank You P.s. I Hope I Have Done This Right.

2. animal_kingdom

animal_kingdom Well-Known Member

I've been fortunate...only small udder problems. They have not come back year after year.

I have a friend that kept a goat with a continual mastitis problem. Blood in milk and blood after milking.

She had the vet look at it and show and tell her how to treat it.

I do know that this goat has this same problem every single birthing. But if I have a goat with a repeated problem, I would have to consider the worth of the goat in order to keep any problems on my farm. Sometimes they are such pets that you put up with whatever.

3. debitaber

debitaber Well-Known Member