Blocky farmer

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by steveaust, Apr 15, 2005.

1. steveaust

steveaust Member

G*day from australia.I have just joined this forum and hope i can be of some help through my experience in bottle rearing calves and repairing machinery.I am a hobby farmer rearing angus/fresian calves on 17 acres of wind swept plains country in the western district of victoria.The term blocky farmer is what the real farmers here call us hobby farmers,not a term of endearment.

2. patarini

patarini Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard mate!

3. Windy in Kansas

Windy in Kansas In Remembrance

Welcome to the forums. I hope that you will be able to get as much from the forums as your knowledge offers.

We Americans, Yanks, or whatever you wish to call us love the way you speak. Right now I am wishing that the forum was an oral media not written. On the other hand we butcher the English language so badly I expect it disgusts you to have to read it or at least hear it on television. Sigh! I agree.

Anyway, welcome!

4. Don Armstrong

Don Armstrong In Remembrance

G'day, mate. 'Ow ya goin'? Orright?

5. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

They're speaking in CODE!!!

Welcome aboard - Block farmers one and all.

My wife Wind in her Hair spent a good many years bottle raising calves - though her specialty was Holstein/Brahman crosses. At the time, they were just about giving them away since it cost more to haul them to market as day old calves than they brought at the auction. Her production was pretty "low tech" as compared to today.

Oh, the stories she tells about treating scours and using Burdizzos...she could go on for hours (and usually does)

Welcome again.

6. NativeRose

NativeRose Texas Country Grandma

Welcome steveaust. This is a wonderful site with lots of nice folks and tons of information. It is always interesting to hear from other "foreign" places and how things are done in your area.

7. Terri