Blade sharpening?

Discussion in 'Sheep' started by Sarah J, Feb 6, 2005.

1. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

I have a set of Shearmaster shears...it was new last Fall and has sheared six sheep...I tried to do one of my ewes today and got most of her belly and udder sheared, but they are really dull now and not cutting worth anything. I gave up.

Anyone know where I can send them to get sharpened? I've checked around here and no one appears to know anything...they all hire out to get their sheep sheared and never worry about keeping their own set so never bothered to find out where to sharpen them. The places that sharpen lawn mower blades just looked at me like I was growing an extra head or something. :no:

So I thought maybe I could ship them off somewhere to get the whole set checked and make sure everything is working right and get the blades sharpened? Help?

On the plus side, under all that wool (about 6 inches worth!) I discovered that my ram lamb (about 9 months old) has, indeed been doing his job while we weren't looking! I'm estimating late April for my first set of spring lambs. :)

Thanks!

Sarah

2. Ross

Ross Moderator Staff Member Supporter

Where abouts are you Sarah, shipping the whole set out could get expensive!! Ask at the local dog groomer where they send theirs to or maybe they have a sharpener. I have a sharpener and do my own so its not completely unrealistic. Heck I'll sharpen the blades if you like but clipper overhaul isn't something I try or at least when I have its not been pretty.

3. SilverVista

SilverVista Well-Known Member