Blackberry Growing advice

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by BluegrassBerrys, Jul 7, 2005.

1. BluegrassBerrys

BluegrassBerrys Member

Hello,
    I am a commercial Blackberry Grower in Lexington, KY I am new to homesteading. Anyone have any questions regarding growing Blackberries???

2. dugan

dugan Well-Known Member

Will wild plants produce well if transplanted.Also do you prune and when. Can they be planted in the fall. thanks

3. dot

dot Well-Known Member

Is there any way to keep the japanese beetles out of them? There are really bad in this area. We've tried different sprays but they keep on coming.

4. Terri

Terri Singletree & Weight Loss & Permaculture Moderator Staff Member Supporter

In your opinion, which is the best type of thornless blackberry? I can sell all that I can grow, but I could grow and pick much more if it wasn't for all of those #$#$&* thorns!

5. southerngurl

southerngurl le person Supporter

When and how should I prune them?

6. BluegrassBerrys

BluegrassBerrys Member

Before I get into some answers we need to learn a little bit about the Blackberry plant. Blackberries produce canes from their roots, canes can either grow from a main "crown" root or they can spontaneously appear from any root node. Some Varieties spread more than others and it has to do with this spontaneous rooting... A Cane lives for two years, in its first year of life it is called a Primocane, in its first year it does not produce fruit, it just produces leaves and delivers energy to the roots, over the winter during its dormancy period, it undergoes a change and produces the cells necessary for producing fruiting laterals in year two this cane is called a Floricane.

To prune or not to prune.