Blackberries

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by mrglock27, Jul 22, 2006.

1. mrglock27

mrglock27 Well-Known Member

I clear blackberries for a living and will soon have access to thousands and thousands of ripe berries. Has anyone made blackberry jam? If so is it easy?

2. JanO

JanO Well-Known Member Supporter

Blackberry jam is just as easy as strawberry, or any other kind. You can use the recipe in the pectin packages. It's very good.

I won't have blackberries for another month. I can't wait. I'll be putting up lots of jam.

3. katydidagain

katydidagain Adventuress--Definition 2 Supporter

Very easy but asking on the cooking and crafts forum will yield you recipes besides the one on the pectin box. I strain out most of the seeds and about to make up a bunch; I don't eat it but ship a case to a friend in CA every year. He makes handmade soap and lotions. I get the better end of the bargain; he thinks he does. :)

4. MELOC

MELOC Master Of My Domain

i just made a batch two days ago. i use certo liquid pectin and normally use the included recipes. it was not specifically listed this year. well, jam was but i prefer jelly from blackberries. i had to do an internet search for the recipe. i searched "certo blackberry jelly recipe" and BAM...there it was, lol.

3 3/4 cups blackberry juice
    1/4 cup lemon juice
    7 1/2 cups sugar
    2 packages of certo liquid pectin
    1/2 teaspoon of butter

combine all ingredients except pectin and bring to boil. add pectin and bring to rolling boil for 1 minute. remove from heat. remove any foam that floats to the top. pack in jars and it recommends to water bath in boiling water for 5 minutes. i always use jelly jars with rings and lids so the water bath is no problem. it says it yields 8 half pint jars but i got 9.

this was a larger batch than i made with black raspberries and my pot allowed the jelly to cook over. :flame: