Black snake question?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Unregistered-1427815803, Aug 9, 2004.

1. I know black snakes are good guys(somewhat),I have not seem a copperhead or any mice this year but the blk snake eat my chicks and chicken eggs but what really upsets me is they eat my pigeon's eggs! I am tired of taking these fellows for a long ride.Is there something like D.E or a herb or the likes around my pigeons? State of Misery(Mo.)

2. Jeff Hathaway

Jeff Hathaway Active Member

Some on this forum have recommended a product called 'Snake Away' (I think). If you do a search you'll probably find a few threads about it. I have no personal experience with it, but I recall that if you were going to use it a lot, you'd better have lots of money to spend.

I'd recommend fencing your birds' enclosures with 1/4" hardware cloth so that the snakes can't get in. Then you don't have to worry about them eating birds or eggs! It will also force them to eat more rats and mice around your place :)

If you take them for a ride, don't take them too far. Studies on other species have shown that if they can't find their way back to their hibernation site (which they return to year after year), they will die when winter comes. Generally it would be best to move them less than 500 yards.

Jeff Hathaway
    Sciensational Sssnakes!!

3. Ravenlost

Ravenlost Well-Known Member Supporter

Won't mothballs keep snakes away?

4. Golfballs will keep them away for good. Just place one in each nest and replace when one dissappears.

5. Haggis

Haggis MacCurmudgeon

What you need is a natural cure; Kingsnakes. As around or otherwise find some good sized Kingsnakes and turn lose around your homestead. Blacksnakes eat vermin; that's good, but when there are too many they will begin feeding on your small livestock or eggs. The Kingsnake eats these fellows for a living; and they're good at it.