Best solar panel brands?

Discussion in 'Alternative Energy' started by Gresford, Aug 14, 2006.

1. Gresford

Gresford Well-Known Member

I'm new to photovoltaics so I may not be wording this question correctly but I'm hoping that someone can help me. I am looking to purchase solar panels to add an array to my off grid generator system. Are there certain brands or types of solar panels that are more efficient than others? By efficiency I mean the ability to collect the sunlight for the most hours during the day regardless of the angle of the sun for battery charging and the quality of the panel itself.

Thanks,

Gresford

2. mightybooboo

mightybooboo Well-Known Member

I can answer regarding heat and efficiency.
    In hot climes,nothing beats unisolar,they can even exceed ratings in hot areas(Why they are so popular in Australia),something unknown to other panels.Next best in heat are monocrystalline panels.
    3rd for heat are multicrystalline panels.

You can put a bullet through a unisolar panel,so in that regard its also a winner.Unisolars cost more per watt,but then again at hot temps,they produce full output,others produce less than rated,so costs even out.Unisolars are larger sized per watt,if space is a premium,thats a drawback.

Unisolars only have 20 year gaurantees,the others usually have more.
    --------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.windsun.com/tech_tips.htm

Heat vs Solar Panel Output