Best Non-Electric Stove/Oven (Not a woodstove)

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by mommykood, Jan 12, 2005.

1. mommykood

mommykood Active Member

Hello! :)

I was wondering what the best non-electric stove/oven is? I will have NO electric, so I can't power up a glow bar or phantom loads.

With the ones that are gas, do I need gas "piping" in my homestead? Or is it gas like the LP tank that I have hooked up to my gas grill outside (that I bought at Menards for $10)?

I would love either the Pioneer Maid or the Kitchen Queen wood heating/cooking stove, but I am an amateur at wood stove cooking, and I don't want my family to starve because all I produce is burned foods! LOL :)

If I bought a non-electric gas stove/oven, it would have to be the lowest price possible, because it would basically be a "stepping stone" to the Pioneer Maid/Kitchen Queen in our future, which is expensive... :)

Anyone have experience with this?

Thanks, everyone, for all your advice, knowledge, and help thus far! :)

I appreciate it!

Jen :)

2. WisJim

WisJim Well-Known Member Supporter

3. rambler

rambler Well-Known Member Supporter

Will you be heating with propane I would guess? Use the smae tank, branch a line to the propane range. You will find one with pilot lighting.

--->Paul

4. BCR

BCR Well-Known Member

It depends on how long you think you'll have to make do. If you don't need propane for anything else, consider a small tabletop two burner unit for a stove (they sell for under $20 at ethnic food stores here-and use propane) and then use a grill. This can be done even in winter. And then save those few hundred you'd spend on a make-do stove and add to it as fast as you can for the one of your dreams. If you are thinking it will be YEARS, then that's another story, but 6-9 months and I'd make do as cheaply as possible.

5. rambler

rambler Well-Known Member Supporter